Punjab: Congress releases first list of 86 candidates, Channi will contest from Chamkaur Sahib and Sidhu will contest from Amritsar East

New Delhi, January 15 (Agency) The Congress on Friday released its first list of 86 candidates for the Punjab Assembly elections, which included the names of several senior leaders including Chief Minister Charanjit Singh Channi, party’s state president Navjot Singh Sidhu, Deputy Chief Minister Sukhjinder Randhawa and O P Soni. According to the list of candidates released by the party, Chief Minister Channi will once again contest from Chamkaur Sahib. Sidhu will contest from his current seat Amritsar East, Randhawa from his current seat Dera Baba Nanak and Soni will also contest from his current constituency Amritsar Central. Former Punjab Pradesh Congress Committee president and Rajya Sabha member Pratap Singh Bajwa will contest from Kadian. Malvika Sood, who recently joined Congress, will be the party’s candidate from Moga. She is the sister of actor Sonu Sood. It is worth mentioning that all the 117 assembly seats in Punjab will go to polls on February 14.

Get up to date latest breaking news from India and Global including current headlines on business, politics, entertainment and much more.

Latest news

Related news