28-member Indian contingent will be included in Tokyo Olympic Opening Ceremony, names of these players including Manpreet Singh-Mary Kom

As many as 22 athletes and 6 officials will take part in the Tokyo Olympics opening ceremony. Indian Olympic Association President Narendra Dhruv Batra gave this information on Thursday. Organizers have asked all countries to reduce the number of players attending the opening ceremony in view of the COVID-19 pandemic.

22 players and 6 officials
After this the Indian team disclosed its numbers. According to Batra, in the opening ceremony to be held on July 23, there will be 1 player from hockey, 8 from boxing, 4 from table tennis, 2 from rowing, 1 from gymnastics, 1 from swimming, 4 from rowing, 1 player from fencing while 6 officials will also be selected. has been included in this list. Although hockey players will not take part in the opening ceremony, but since the captain of the men’s team Manpreet Singh is the flag bearer, he will take part in it.

Tokyo Olympics: Salute to the spirit of this athlete, representing her country in Tokyo Olympics at the age of 66, will create history
Indian flag bearers will be included
Woman boxer MC Mary Kom is also the flag bearer and she will also take part in the event. Players associated with archery, judo, badminton, weightlifting, tennis, hockey (women’s and men’s) and shooting will not participate in the opening ceremony. According to the IOA, since the matches of the players associated with these games are on 23 or 24 and they have to prepare for it, they were kept out of the opening ceremony.


Tokyo Olympics: This athlete is the youngest in Tokyo Olympics, defeated a player 31 years older than her
India’s 21st No.
The march past of the opening ceremony will be according to the Japanese alphabet and India will be number 21 in this sense. The opening ceremony of the Tokyo Olympics will take place on Friday at the Olympic Stadium. The stadium, which will host major track and field events as well as the gold medal match in women’s football, is also scheduled to host the closing ceremony on 8 August. Other teams are also sending a limited number of athletes to the opening ceremony, with Australia limiting the contingent to 50 and Britain to 30.


Get up to date latest breaking news from India and Global including current headlines on business, politics, entertainment and much more.

Latest news

Related news